Waxwork Records, one of the leading labels specializing in horror film soundtracks on vinyl, have officially announced a deluxe re-issue of The Exorcist‘s original motion picture soundtrack.

They’ve also teased some of the brilliant new artwork created by Justin Erickson of Phantom City Creative, which you can see on his Instagram here.

The tracklisting has yet to be unveiled, however judging by the comments on Waxwork’s Facebook page it appears this release will be more in line with the original soundtrack from 1974, despite rumours surfacing back in July last year of them releasing Lalo Schifrin’s unused score which William Friedkin infamously rejected by throwing the tapes out of a window.

There is always the possibility of Schifrin’s score appearing as bonus tracks, though. In 1998, the soundtrack was remastered for the film’s 25th anniversary and included excerpts from Schifrin’s score tacked onto the end. Unfortunately, due to licensing issues, the 1998 release also omitted George Crumb’s chilling Night Of The Electric Insects and Mike Oldfield’s Tubular Bells – arguably the most iconic and memorable piece of music used in The Exorcist.

It’ll be interesting to see what Waxwork have in store for us, which tracks actually make the cut, and whether or not Schifrin’s entire score ever sees the light of day. Regardless, we’re very excited to get our mitts on this new release! Waxwork’s vinyls are simply stunning.

Along with The Exorcist, Waxwork Records have an incredible line-up for 2017 including The Thing, Evil Dead II, Creepshow 2, The Babadook, Don’t Look Now, and Darkman.